Type Two Diabetes

March 25, 2009

I’ve been living with type 2 diabetes since about my mid-twenties. When I was initially diagnosed, my average blood sugar was between three and four hundred–enough to put a man in a coma.

Since then, concerning the illness, I’ve gone from nonchalance to acceptance to resistance.

There is no cure for type two diabetes. Once you have it, you’re stuck with it. However, it is manageable.

Failure to manage your diabetes, or keep your blood sugar in check, can lead to severe blood circulation disorders, which can cause heart disease. Another possibility is diabetic neuropathy, which means the nerves in your body die off. Essentially, you lose your ability to walk. You lose your ability to see. You may lose your ability to hear.

Then you lose your life.

Ultimately, that is the end result of this disease, which has no cure. It kills you.

If you’re a type two diabetic, it means that your body cannot produce enough insulin to work with all of the sugar passing through your bloodstream. At this point, consider the sugar like a slow-working acid consuming you from within. One of your body’s last-resort defense mechanisms for your blood sugar being too high is to shut down until it comes down on its own. This is why you may feel sleepy after too much food. When T2 Diabetes is left unchecked for too long, this occasionally results in a diabetic coma. This, as you can imagine, is about a serious as it gets.

At first, I couldn’t have cared less when I was first diagnosed (the whopper was not something I was willing to part with). As I learned what this disease would do to me if I didn’t keep it in check, I decided to make some changes.

You need to know that you can beat this thing back. It’s not impossible. It’s difficult, but it’s not impossible.

Without medical insurance or any sort of medication, I reduced my blood sugar two hundred points in one year by developing a routine and sticking to it. I’m walking proof that it can be done.

You can Google type 2 diabetes and come back with a host of results that will get you started, and you should consult your physician before making any major changes. That being said, this is what I do.

1). Exercise
Aerobics is the greatest enemy type 2 diabetes has, because it increases your circulation. You should be doing something from the moment you get up in the morning; not only does it wake you up, but it improves your blood circulation immensely. You don’t have to do something hardcore from the moment you roll out of bed. Five minutes of jogging in place, jumpingĀ  jacks, or shadowboxing will do just fine. Anything to get you just a little winded.
Getting your weight down will also allow blood to travel more freely through your system, which will greatly reduce your blood sugar. This is my five-minute routine in the morning. Stretch first. Seriously. Trust me on this.

1). Ten axe kicks, each leg (throw your leg straight into the air, as high as you can).
2). Thirty jumping jacks (Three equal one)
3). Ten jab-reverse combinations (switching sides)
4). Shadowboxing

If you have a job that has you sitting a lot, you should get up every half an hour, and for five minutes, get your blood pumping. Jog in place. If you talk on the phone, walk around while you talk instead of sitting down. Little changes like this go a long way.

2). Eat Right
Okay, I’m going to admit that this part bloody sucks at the beginning. You have to give yourself time to get used to it…but yeah, I’m not going to lie to you, this was the hardest part of it for me.
I’ve learned a lot along the way, though. Cinnamon actually reduces blood sugar and goes great in coffee. Swap out sugar for sweetener in everything and you will start to feel results in weeks. Develop a routine for your body. It’s often debated that you can eat three regular, balanced meals, or several smaller meals throughout the day. Both methods work, but talk to your doctor and figure out which one works for you. Whichever you decide, stick with it. I avoid most pastas and breads because they take a long time to digest, resulting in a spike in blood sugar.

My typical meals involve oatmeal for breakfast (which also brings down cholesterol), pizza soup or salad, and then something with baked (not fried, gotta let the fried stuff go) chicken, usually wrapped in a tortilla with cheese and vegetables.

Conclusion
Again, I stress talking to your doctor (I didn’t go into testing your blood sugar here) before changing your diet or starting an exercise routine. What I gave here is what works for me.

What I’m trying to stress is that if you have been diagnosed with type two diabetes, DON’T IGNORE IT. It’s not going to go away, and if you don’t deal with it, it will take everything from you before it takes your life.

That’s not drama, that’s truth. That’s life.

Or death.

Your call.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.